NIP Trainees

Summer Kathol receives the Dr Zofia Zukowska Award for Excellence in Thesis Research

Congratulations to Summer Kathol. She received the Dr Zofia Zukowska Award for Excellence in Thesis Research yesterday at the Convocation Ceremony. Summer is a PhD candidate in the Interdisciplinary Program in Neuroscience and a previous NIP fellow. She is doing her thesis research in Dr Italo Mocchetti’s lab.

NIP Trainees 2018-2019 Academic Year

Lorenzo Bozzelli: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Katherine Conant, MD
Thesis Research: The role of MMPs and PNNs in HAND.

Deran Erdengiz: Predoctoral Trainee
Kathy Maguire-Zeiss, PhD
Thesis Research: Synuclein directly regulates L-type VGCC activity and function in dopaminergic neurons.

Cameron McKay: Predoctoral Trainee
Guinevere Eden, D.Phil.
Thesis Research: Developmental dyslexia and hippocampal volume.

Mondona McCann: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Kathy Maguire-Zeiss, PhD
Thesis Research: Polychlorinated biphenyls and synuclein as a ‘dual hit’ model of astrocytic dysfunction.

Laya Rajan: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Chandan Vaidya, PhD
Thesis Research: Neuroplasticity due to obesity in the developing brain. 

Stephanie Sloley: Predoctoral Trainee
Mark Burns, PhD
Thesis Research: Identifying changes in hippocampal synaptic plasticity following repetitive mild traumatic brain injury.

Recent NIP Trainees

Kaela Singleton: Predoctoral Trainee  (NIH F99 Awarded)
Mentor: Maria Donoghue, PhD and Elena Silva, PhD
Thesis Research: Mechanisms of regulation and function of Sox 11 in frog and mouse. 

Erin Wenzel: Predoctoral Trainee (NRSA Awarded)
Mentor: Italo Mocchetti, PhD
Thesis Research: Intracellular mechanisms of HIV-1 envelope protein neurotoxicity.

Brittany Aguilar: (Thesis defended)
Mentors: Patrick Forcelli, PhD and Ludise Malkova, PhD
Thesis Research: Investigating contributions of intermediate and deep layers of superior colliculus to defensive and emotional behaviors.

Carrie Leonard: (Thesis defended)
Mentor: Maria Donoghue, PhD
Thesis Research: EphA7 regulates dendritic morphology and postnatal synapse formation in cerebral cortex. 

Lanier Heyburn: (Thesis defended)
Mentors: Brent Harris, MD, PhD and Charbel Moussa, MBBS, PhD
Thesis Research: Effect of tyrosine kinase inhibitors on TDP-43 localization.

Ted Turesky: (Thesis defended)
Mentor: Guinevere Eden
Thesis Research: Neural development and degeneration: An fMRI study on the motor system in children, young adults, and old adults. 

Megan Allen: (Thesis defended)
Mentors: Katherine Conant, MD and Kathy Maguire-Zeiss, PhD
Thesis Research: MMP-1 Mediated PAR-1 Signaling and Fragile X Syndrome

Kelly Chamberlain (Thesis defended)
Mentor: Jeffrey Huang, PhD
Thesis Research: Oligodendrocyte Regulation of Neuronal Energy Metabolism and  ATP Buffering.

Amanda DiBattista (awarded an F31 NRSA; Thesis defended)
Mentor: Bill Rebeck, PhD
Thesis Research: Alzheimer’s Disease Risk Gene APOE Predicts Molecular Differences in the Absence of Disease. 

Summer Kahol (awarded an F31 NRSA; Thesis defended)
Mentor: Italo  Mocchetti, PhD
Thesis Research:  Investigating Mitochondrial Dynamic Impairment by HIV Viral  Protein Tat and the Protective Capacity of Pituitary Adenylate Cyclase-Activating Polypeptide (PACAP).

Gustavo Rodriguez (awarded an F31 NRSA; Thesis defended)
Mentor: Bill Rebeck, PhD
Thesis Research: Effect of APOE Genotype on Glial Activation in a Mouse Model  of Amyloid Deposition.

Carissa Winland Berger (awarded an F31 NRSA; Thesis defended)
Co-Mentors:  Kathy Maguire-Zeiss, PhD and Stefano Vicini, PhD
Thesis Research:  The Effect of Inflammation on Striatal Circuitry. 

Teal Connor (PhD Granted): Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Bill Rebeck, PhD
Thesis Research: The Intracellular Domains Required for ApoER2’s Effect on  Dendritic Spine Density. 

Michael Smirnov (PhD Granted): Predoctoral Trainee
Mentors: Jeffrey Urbach, PhD and  Herb Geller, PhD
Thesis Research: Structural and Mechanical Influence on Growth Cone Guidance  and Axonal Regeneration. 

Patricia Washington (PhD Granted): Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Mark Burns, PhD
Thesis Research: The Role of Amyloid-Beta After Traumatic Brain Injury: Injury Mediator or Marker? 

Charisse Winston (PhD Granted): Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Mark Burns, PhD
Thesis Research: The Effect of APOE Genotype on Neuronal Remodeling Caused  by Mild Traumatic Brain Injury.

NIP Trainees Prior to 2012 (predoctoral and postdoctoral, in alphabetical order):

Mary O. Adedoyin, Ph.D.: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Neale / Dr. Vicini
Thesis Research: The Role of N-acetylaspartylglutamate in the Amygdala.

Liza Q. Bundesen, Ph.D. : Predoctoral Trainee (Ph.D. awarded December, 2003)
Co-Mentors: Dr. Barbara Bregman and Dr. Larry Kromer
Thesis Research: :Â Ephrins and Eph Receptors Participate in Spinal Cord Development and Adult Injury Responses.

Kimberly R. Byrnes, Ph.D. : Postdoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Alan Faden
Thesis Research: Role of Microglial Related Inflammation in the Spinal Cord Response to Injury. Gregory S. Emch, Ph.D. : Predoctoral Trainee
Co-mentors: Dr. Jean Wrathall and Dr. Stefano Vicini
Postdoctoral Research:Â Synaptic function after SCI.

Craig Dietrich, Ph.D : Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Martin Morad
Thesis Research: Protons as Transmitters in Synaptic Signaling.

Andrew E. Emery, Ph.D.: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. J. Wroblewski
Thesis Research: Neuroprotective mechanisms of metabotropic glutamate receptor 1

Ivy V. Estabrooke, Ph.D. : Predoctoral Trainee (PhD awarded November, 2005)
Co-mentors: Dr. Paul Aisen and Dr. Michael Ullman
Thesis Research: Neuropharmacological Approaches to the Recovery of Language after Neural Insult.

Jae K. Lee, Ph.D. : Predoctoral Trainee (PhD awarded October, 2005)
Mentor: Dr. Jean Wrathall
Thesis Research: Alterations in the Hoffman-Reflex After Spinal Cord Injury.

Judith M. Lytle, PhD : Predoctoral Trainee (PhD awarded May, 2007)
Mentor: Dr. Jean R. Wrathall and Dr. Vittorio Gallo
Thesis Research: Electrophysiological Characterization and Transcriptional Control of Oligodendrocyte Precursor Cells in the Acutely Injured Spinal Cord .

John G. Partridge, Ph.D. : Postdoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Stefano Vicini
Postdoctoral Research: Excitatory Neurotransmission in Mouse Striatum: The role of NMDA and trkB receptors.

Esther Magnuson, Ph.D.: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Huntsman / Dr. Vicini
Thesis Research: Inhibitory control of cortical interneurons in mouse somato-sensory cortex

Sakura S. Minami, Ph.D.: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Rebeck / Dr. Matsuoka
Thesis Research: The role of Fyn in the pathogenic processes of Alzheimer’s disease

Ahdeah Pajoohesh-Gangi, Ph.D.: Postdoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Faden
Thesis Research: Cell Cycle Regulation after Spinal Cord Injury in Mice mouse model of contusive SCI.

Bridget N. Queenan, Ph.D.: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentors: Dr. Daniel Pak and Dr. Stefano Vicini
Thesis Research: Synapse- and Cell-specific Plasticity in the Hippocampus

William J. Rosoff Ph.D. : Postdoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Geoffrey Goodhill
Postdoctoral Research: Mechanisms of Axonal Gradient detection. Lauren E. Ullrich: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. Friedman / Dr. Turner
Thesis Research: Neural structures underlying recognition memory in mild cognitive impairment

Jill Turner, PhD. : Predoctoral Trainee (PhD awarded June 2006)
Mentor: Dr. Kenneth Kellar
Thesis Research: Nicotinic Receptors in the Rat Cerebellum

Matthew T. Whittaker, Ph.D.: Postdoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. J. Wrathall
Thesis Research: The role of NG2 cells in recovery from spinal cord injury in a mouse model of contusive SCI.

Brian S. Wolff, Ph.D.: Predoctoral Trainee
Mentor: Dr. J. Wu
Thesis Research: Activation and plasticity of neocortical neuronal populations induced by alternating electrical fields